Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Child Welfare and Poverty Webinar

October 22, 2018 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

Child Welfare and Poverty
Monday, October 22, 2018

1:00–2:30pm EDT; 12:00–1:30pm CDT; 11:00am–12:30pm MDT; 10:00–11:30am PDT; 9:00–10:30am AKDT; 7:00–8:30am HAST

This webinar is sponsored by: NACC

The child protection system is supposed to protect children from abuse and neglect and promote their health and well-being.  But that system tends to confuse poverty with genuine neglect, impoverishing the families who are the targets of its intervention in the process and causing deterioration in children’s stability and prospects for self-sufficiency. This discussion, with housing and child welfare advocates and academics working in the child welfare and poverty law arenas in the US, will focus on the many respects in which the child protection system contributes to child and family poverty. Topics will include: how child protection systems misidentify and mistreat poverty; how race, national origin, and class bias intensify the maltreatment of families; how child abuse registers operate as employment blacklists in the low-income work force; economic security issues facing children aging out of foster care; and how policies that criminalize poverty operate unchecked in child protection systems in the US.

Register here: https://www.naccchildlaw.org/events/EventDetails.aspx?id=1156006&group

Details

Date:
October 22, 2018
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,

Details

Date:
October 22, 2018
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,
Copyright © 2022 - Heart of Missouri CASA
This website is supported by an award of the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Neither the US Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse this website.